

Kansas Board of Cosmetology

Policy Number: 011-12

714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603 Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002 Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc

Policy – Late Application for Apprentice Licensure

Approved by the Board: May 14, 2012 Last Updated: August 8, 2022

I. Purpose

a. The purpose of this policy is to provide guidelines for the Board to handle applications for apprentice licensure that are submitted more than 15 days after the applicant's enrollment in school.

II. Authority

- a. Application for an apprentice license allowing a person to practice in a licensed school shall be submitted to the Board not more than 15 days after the person's enrollment in the school. K.S.A. 65-1912(a).
- b. The Board, in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas Administrative Procedure Act, may refuse to issue or renew a license, or revoke, suspend, censure, limit or condition a license for failure to comply with any provision of this act, with the rules and regulations of the Board of Cosmetology or with any order issued by the Board. K.S.A. 65-1908(a)(2).
- c. In addition to the board's authority to refuse licensure or impose discipline pursuant to subsection (a), the board shall have the authority to assess a fine not in excess of \$1,000 against a licensee for each of the reasons specified in subsection (a). Such fine may be assessed in lieu of or in addition to such discipline. K.S.A 65-1908(d).

III. Policy and Procedures

- a. Triggering Event: Application for Apprentice Licensure is received by the Board more than 15 days after an applicant's reported start date.
- b. Student is fined pursuant to the Board approved Fine Schedule Guidance Document.

Laura Gloeckner

Executive Director Kansas Board of Cosmetology